Common Ground Studio

Applications are only possible in the summer/fall for the following academic year.

WHAT IS THE COMMON GROUND STUDIO? 

The Common Ground Studio is a new support program for artists who fled or migrated to Germany. It offers access to the Institute of Fine Arts at the Berlin University of the Arts to people interested in Fine Art studies. 

Seven participants have now been integrated into one of the ‘Fachklassen‘ (specialist artistic classes) as a guest for one academic year – from December 2020 to mid-July 2021. The participants can use this time to prepare their portfolio for the formal study application, to better understand the Fine Art program of the UdK, as well as develop their own artistic practice. 

‘Fachklassen’ participating in 20/21:

COMMON GROUND TEAM 

The Common Ground Team meets regularly with the seven participants to check in on each other, foster exchange, and create our own ‘Fachklasse’ experience. We offer support, knowledge, and guidance. We also plan to do workshops for the participants and help them prepare for their application to the UdK & other art academies in Germany. 

We will do work critiques and organize an exhibition on the occasion of the 2021 Rundgang. More to be determined as we go along. 

FACHKLASSEN

The ‘Fachklassen’ integrate the CGSlings as much as possible into the daily life of the class. The CGSlings can join class meetings, class projects, and also receive tutoring from the professors. How and how much the ‘Fachklassen’ work with their CGSlings is up to them. We hope that each ‘Fachklasse’ can offer them a workspace in their studio. 

<

Common Ground Studio

Bewerbungen für das kommende akademische Jahr sind ab Sommer / Herbst wieder möglich

WAS IST DAS COMMON GROUND STUDIO?

Das Common Ground Studio ist unser neues Förderprogramm für Künstler*innen, die nach Deutschland geflüchtet oder emigriert sind. Das Programm bietet Zugang zur Fakultät für Bildende Kunst an der UdK Berlin für am Studium Interessierte. 

Sieben Teilnehmer*innen wurden in einem ersten Durchlauf für ein Studienjahr – von Dezember 2020 bis Mitte Juli 2021 – als Gast in eine der „Fachklassen“ integriert. Die Teilnehmer*innen können diese Zeit nutzen, um ihr Portfolio für die formale Studienbewerbung vorzubereiten, das Studienprogramm der UdK besser kennenzulernen, sowie ihre eigene künstlerische Praxis zu entwickeln.

COMMON GROUND GRUNDLAGENTEAM

Das Common Ground Team trifft sich regelmäßig mit den sieben Teilnehmer*innen, um die Erfahrungen in den Fachklassen zu begleiten, den Austausch zu fördern und unsere eigene „Fachklasse“ zu gestalten. Wir bieten Unterstützung, Wissen und Anleitung, unter anderem in der Form von Workshops. Zudem helfen wir den Teilnehmer*innen, sich auf ihre Bewerbung an der UdK und anderen Kunstakademien in Deutschland vorzubereiten.

Wir führen Arbeitskritiken durch und planen eine gemeinsame Ausstellung anlässlich des Rundgangs 2021. Weitere Aktivitäten ergeben sich im Verlauf des Common Ground Studio und nach Bedarf.

FACHKLASSEN

Die Fachklassen integrieren die CGS-Teilnehmer*innen so weit wie möglich in den Alltag der Klasse. Die CGS-Teilnehmer*innen können an Klassentreffen und Klassenprojekten teilnehmen und erhalten auch weitere Unterstützung von den Professoren. Wie und wie viel die Fachklassen mit ihren CGS-Teilnehmer*innen  arbeiten, bleibt ihnen überlassen. Wir hoffen, dass jede Fachklasse den CGS-Teilnehmer*innen einen Arbeitsplatz in ihrem Atelier anbieten kann.

teilnehmende Fachklassen 2020/21:

<