Common Ground Studio

Applications are only possible in the summer/fall for the following academic year.

WHAT IS THE COMMON GROUND STUDIO? 

The Common Ground Studio is a support program for artists who fled or migrated to Germany. It offers access to the Institute of Fine Arts at the Berlin University of the Arts to people interested in Fine Art studies. 

Eleven participants have now been integrated into one of the ‘Fachklassen‘ (specialist artistic classes) as a guest for one academic year – from October to mid-July. The participants can use this time to prepare their portfolio for the formal study application, to better understand the Fine Art program of the UdK, as well as develop their own artistic practice.

This academic year, the CGS wants to expand it’s scope and further examine what type of collaboration and community is possible within the art academy. During the this time, the CGS will also be putting on various public facing events. See the Common Ground Instagram for all announcements.

COMMON GROUND TEAM 

The Common Ground Team meets regularly with the seven participants to check in on each other, foster exchange, and create our own ‘Fachklasse’ experience. We offer support, knowledge, and guidance. We also plan to do workshops for the participants and help them prepare for their application to the UdK & other art academies in Germany.  

FACHKLASSE

A ‘Fachklasse’ is the studio where fine art students continue their studies after the 1st year – they are led by professional artists and all have unique ways of working. They integrate the CGSlings as much as possible into the daily life of the studio. The CGSlings can join class meetings, studio projects, and also receive tutoring from the professors. How the ‘Fachklassen’ work with their CGSlings is up to them and reflects of the individuality of each ‘Fachklasse’ at the UdK. We hope that each ‘Fachklasse’ can offer them a workspace in their studio.

‘Fachklassen’ participating in 22/23:

‘Fachklassen’ that participated in 21/22:

‘Fachklassen’ that participated in 20/21:

<

Common Ground Studio

Bewerbungen für das kommende akademische Jahr sind ab Sommer / Herbst wieder möglich

WAS IST DAS COMMON GROUND STUDIO?

Das Common Ground Studio ist unser Förderprogramm für Künstler*innen, die nach Deutschland geflüchtet oder emigriert sind. Das Programm bietet Zugang zur Fakultät für Bildende Kunst an der UdK Berlin für am Studium Interessierte. 

In diesem akademischen Jahr möchte die CGS ihren Aktionsradius erweitern und weiter untersuchen, welche Art von Zusammenarbeit und Gemeinschaft innerhalb der Kunsthochschule möglich ist. Während dieser Zeit wird das CGS auch verschiedene Veranstaltungen für die Öffentlichkeit durchführen. Alle Ankündigungen finden Sie auf dem Common Ground Instagram.

COMMON GROUND TEAM

Das Common Ground Team trifft sich regelmäßig mit den sieben Teilnehmer*innen, um die Erfahrungen in den Fachklassen zu begleiten, den Austausch zu fördern und unsere eigene „Fachklasse“ zu gestalten. Wir bieten Unterstützung, Wissen und Anleitung, unter anderem in der Form von Workshops. Zudem helfen wir den Teilnehmer*innen, sich auf ihre Bewerbung an der UdK und anderen Kunstakademien in Deutschland vorzubereiten.

FACHKLASSEN

Eine ‚Fachklasse‘ ist das Atelier, in dem die Kunststudenten nach dem 1. Jahr ihr Studium fortsetzen – sie werden von professionellen Künstlern geleitet und haben alle eine einzigartige Arbeitsweise. Sie integrieren die CGSlings so weit wie möglich in das tägliche Leben des Ateliers. Die CGS-Teilnehmer*innen können an Klassentreffen und Klassenprojekten teilnehmen und erhalten auch weitere Unterstützung von den Professoren. Wie die Fachklassen mit ihren CGSlingen arbeiten, ist ihnen selbst überlassen und spiegelt die Individualität jeder Fachklasse an der UdK wider. Wir hoffen, dass jede Fachklasse den CGS-Teilnehmer*innen einen Arbeitsplatz in ihrem Atelier anbieten kann.

teilnehmende Fachklassen in 22/23:

teilnehmende Fachklassen in 21/22:

Fachklassen, die in 20/21 teilgenommen haben:

<